Thinking about getting a new car. What to get...

Non-Suzuki related topics. Anything can go here.
Moto
Site Admin

OK kids, it may be time for me to get something more reliable and probably a little higher off the ground.

Long story short is that my current employer isn't great, and I'm hunting for new work. Unfortunately, my day job is in the field of geology and there isn't much available locally. I will likely end up working in the oil field soon.

The positive side is that I have the potential to make about twice as much as I do now in under a year. The negative side is that you live onsite and work 12 hour days. Probably about two weeks on one week off if your lucky. (Probably will be on longer as new drilling techniques are leading to less rig moving)

We're talking about North Dakota and Montana and they aren't exactly great about plowing the roads around here.

I'm thinking I might try to get a new or newish Subaru Forester (probably an XT), but I would be open to some other options.

If I go this route I basically need to find something that has ground clearance similar to a pickup, but I would like to avoid getting a pickup. (If you are lower than the pickups you will get hung-up).

The saabaru will probably hang for a little while, but it has about 120k miles on it and I will be driving in areas without any kind of support available. Potentially 1200 miles round trip. If any of you have driven through Montana/Western ND you know it isn't a place where you want to have car trouble.

So.... thoughts, suggestions, ideas?
KuroNekko

If you are looking into a CUV/small SUV then the Subaru Forester is pretty much the best there is. Just about every respectable auto publication has it ranked as the best small SUV. It's got the best safety, best reliability, standard AWD, and a manual offering. That combo is a winner to me.